Honorary Members

Honorary Members

Honorary members are members who have been remarkably valuable for the association. At the moment, Atlantis has three honorary members: Kees Ruijter, Jennifer Herek and Yanick Verkerk.

Kees Ruijter

Kees Ruijter was the first programme director of University College Twente and played a key role in shaping the programme. He has been appointed as an honorary member because of his constructive and supportive attitude in the process of founding Atlantis. From the first moment on, Kees has been thinking along with the founders and contributed significantly to the association as it is now. The room of Kees’ office has always been open for Atlantis and its members.

Jennifer Herek

Jennifer Herek was the first dean of University College Twente. In 2014, she has been appointed as an honorary member as she has been serving as an example for Atlantis and its members in shaping the community. As the ‘careful mother’ of all students and staff, she knows when to step in with a motivational activity or inspirational speech. Jennifer has been capable of building a strong community of both faculty members and students like no other and has always been very open and supportive of ideas about Atlantis.

Yanick Verkerk

Yanick Verkerk was one of the most active members of the association. In 2020, he was appointed as an honorary member, as from the beginning of his studies, he showed an immense involvement in the Atlantis community. Following his enthusiasm for the association, he joined the third board of Atlantis in his second year of studies, as the chair. In 2017, he joined the OS (Overleg Studieverenigingen) board, contributing even more to Atlantis and the UT community. After graduating from ATLAS, he continued to show his love and support for the community and joined our Advisory Body and Board, and chaired the Lustrum Committee of Atlantis in 2019.